PDA

View Full Version : A sad story...

FA_Medic
04-20-2012, 07:03 AM
Although this is a sad situation, I thought I would share it anyways. There are some lessons to be learned.

First off, a short piece about myself. I'm a Medic with about 25 months time in service, a relative newbie. I'm still with my very first unit. My first deployment was short and furious, with me being thrown into a Senior Line Medic position without any experience and also having my own patrol to roll out with 2-3 times a day. At the end of the deployment I had earned my CMB, passed the promotion board and picked up several acknowledgements between battalion and the brigade commander. Upon coming home, I was whisked off to WLC where I graduated on the Commandant's List. A few months later I was promoted to the rank of Sergeant. All of this, and I say again, all of this was due to the constant push from a young Staff Sergeant in my section that figured he was going to make an NCO out of me.

This man pushed me to my limits on everything. I've been smoked, chewed out and praised all in the same day before. He never gave me an option to falter or do anything half-assed. I honestly don't believe I'd be in my current position without him. He is probably the most hard-nosed, stubborn NCO I've ever met, and I've never worked as hard in my life as I have for him.

This past Monday we were conducting PT in the motorpool as usual. After a vigorous 4 mile run out on the road, we had come back to do some mobility sprints and muscle failure. During a relay that involved backpedaling, my SSG somehow (I never saw the fall, only heard it) tripped and fell, striking his head on the concrete. At first, I thought he was going to just sit up and keep running. When he didn't get up, we ran over to check on him, and unfortunately it was obvious that he had fractured his skull (if you're a medic, you know what you're looking for.)